top of page
Search
  • elizabethbugtai650

Teaching Philosophy Statement

Updated: Nov 23, 2021

In the study of English literature, the student and the instructor must discuss effective techniques in reading and writing for various genres; traditional, non-traditional, formal, informal, fiction, and non-fiction. An educator must prepare students with the ability to think critically, analyze plethora of works, and discuss topics via text or digital. As a prospective professor, my primary role is to invigorate, challenge, and develop my students’ reading and writing skills, so they may become literary contributors in society. I do not have any prior experience teaching; however, I am currently a para educator, and I am in the classroom constantly observing teachers utilize different pedagogies. My main goal is to have my students to understand the world was influenced by those prior to them, and it is up to the student to continue or change what has been done in a professional way. Provoking a sense of agency within my students is a key factor to my teaching because I want them to comprehend the notion that they have a voice, and their voice deserves to be shared and heard. However, to ensure authority in my student’s voice, I must educate them to research credible and informative material, so they may write for any opportunity they may encounter.


I grew up in a Filipino household and we hold education to the highest regard. Education, traditional academia and/or trade, is something that is earned, and no one can take it from you. I firmly believe education and gaining as much knowledge as one can at a young age will open more opportunities in their future. I want to support my students and encourage them to be the best literate writers as they can be and be open minded to all kinds of conversations. All students are teachable and majority of the time they want to learn. Thus, it is my job to help them wherever they are in their academic career and guide them to be critical, creative, and bold in their thinking. Communication is a viable asset in life; resulting, in my goal to help students communicate their thoughts and ideas in a calm and professional manner.


I plan to ensure my classroom is a safe environment where all students can share their concerns. I want to promote thoughtful conversations about literature, current trends, American culture, other cultures, and anything that can be thought about critically. I will encompass an open-door policy where students may ask questions, and I will reserve myself from sharing and indoctrinating any student regarding my own personal biases and beliefs. I want my students to think for themselves, and it is crucial that they are not in an echo chamber of their own thoughts. I will provide various sources and opinions on a variety of topics, so my students know that the material and strategies they learn in the classroom can be applied outside in school environment. We will utilize new technologies that will help them find viable sources, peer review drafts, sharing documents, posting discussion questions, etc. more accessible. However, if there are issues in obtaining said technologies, it is my duty to ensure the students can still participate in the activities. I do not want my classroom to be technology heavy since not all students can afford such materials. I do not want them to feel accountable for something beyond their control, and it would be unethical to require such resources.


To ensure my students will build their own arguments, I will solely focus on New Criticism, which focuses on how works of literature function as a self-constrained entity and there is no need for outside material to understand the novel. This theory will push the students to make their own connections with the novel and push them to think for themselves. I plan to prompt the students with some reading material and begin the classroom reviewing the work that was given. After, I will ask a variety of questions beginning with, “Who is the speaker? Why are they writing this novel?” These kinds of questions will encourage the students to think and make connections within the reading, and hopefully take notice to certain patterns and genres occurring. After the students have a grasp of the text, we will move on to the writing assignment, which would simply consist of a thesis statement that discusses whatever topic they want to write about. However, the thesis statement must be approved by me. By doing this, I can become a GPS for any lost students. Once I believe their thesis statement is clear and concise, I will set them off to do writing. I plan to have peer review and workshop days, so students may ask their fellow classmates or I for feedback. I plan to respond via email if students have any questions or concerns regarding the material, and I will be open to meeting them in person or via Zoom call. I want to work with my students, but if they cannot get themselves to start the engine of a car despite having the keys and instruction manual, I cannot do anything. For I am a GPS that comes with clear instructions that will review material as many times needed, but if a student is not motivated to do the work and is not reaching out for assistance, there is only so much I can provide.


With that being said, I want to instill responsibility in my students. They are young adults, usually, and they can communicate their needs and wants to me as an educator. If they are unable to attend class or cannot turn in an assignment on time, I firmly believe it is their responsibility to explain that to me and we can find a viable solution to the situation. There is no need for anyone to be lost and anxiety driven because I will work with the students if they meet me halfway. I am told by coworkers and former educators that I hold students at a high standard, but that is solely because I believe they can do more than they deem they are capable of. Some students just need someone to believe in them.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page